RELEASE BLITZ & REVIEW — The Social Affair By Britney King

Title: The Social Affair
Author: Britney King
Genre: Psychological Thriller

Release Date: January 18, 2018 

 

~SYNOPSIS~ 

In the tradition of Gone Girl and Behind Closed Doors comes a gripping, twisted, furiously clever read that demands your attention, and keeps you guessing until the very end. For fans of the anti-heroine and stories told in unorthodox ways, The Social Affair delivers us the perfect dark and provocative villain. The only question—who is it?

A timeless, perfect couple waltzes into the small coffee shop where Izzy Lewis works. Instantly enamored, she does what she always does in situations like these: she searches them out on social media.

Just like that—with the tap of a screen— she’s given a front row seat to the Dunns’ picturesque life. This time, she’s certain she’s found what she’s been searching for. This time, she’ll go to whatever lengths it takes to ensure she gets it right—even if this means doing the unthinkable.

Intense and original, The Social Affair is a disturbing psychological thriller that explores what can happen when privacy is traded for convenience.


~BUY NOW~

 


 

~WHAT OTHERS ARE SAYING~ 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

~MEET THE AUTHOR~ 
Britney King lives in Austin, Texas with her husband, children, two dogs, one ridiculous cat, and a partridge in a pear tree.

When she’s not wrangling the things mentioned above, she writes psychological, domestic and romantic thrillers set in suburbia.

Currently, she’s writing three series and several standalone novels.

The Bedrock Series features an unlikely heroine who should have known better. Turns out, she didn’t. Thus she finds herself tangled in a messy, dangerous, forbidden love story and face-to-face with a madman hell-bent on revenge. The series has been compared to Fatal Attraction, Single White Female, and Basic Instinct.

The Water Series follows the shady love story of an unconventional married couple—he’s an assassin—she kills for fun. It has been compared to a crazier book version of Mr. and Mrs. Smith. Also, Dexter.

Around The Bend is a heart-pounding standalone, which traces the journey of a well-to-do suburban housewife, and her life as it unravels, thanks to the secrets she keeps. If she were the only one with things she wanted to keep hidden, then maybe it wouldn’t have turned out so bad. But she wasn’t.
 
The With You Series at its core is a deep love story about unlikely friends who travel the world; trying to find themselves, together and apart. Packed with drama and adventure along with a heavy dose of suspense, it has been compared to The Secret Life of Walter Mitty and Love, Rosie.
The Social Affair is an intense standalone about a timeless couple who find themselves with a secret admirer they hadn’t bargained for. For fans of the anti-heroine and stories told in unorthodox ways, the novel explores what can happen when privacy is traded for convenience. It is reminiscent of films such as One Hour Photo and Play Misty For Me.  Without a doubt, connecting with readers is the best part of this gig.

 

~YOU CAN FIND BRITNEY HERE~
Web• http://BritneyKing.com
Instagram • https://instagram.com/britneyking_ 
Facebook • https://www.facebook.com/BritneyKingAuthor
Twitter• http://twitter.com/BritneyKing_
Goodreads • http://bit.ly/BritneyKingGoodreads

To get more– grab two books for free, by subscribing to her mailing list at britneyking.com or just copy and paste bit.ly/britneykingweb into your browser. Happy reading.

 

 

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

 

descriptiondescriptiondescriptiondescriptiondescriptionSo color me surprised, but this one was way better than I expected. I’ll be honest I wasn’t too sure about it as it took me some time to get into it. The writing at first felt a bit clunky, and the flow wasn’t great. That said, somewhere along the way I found myself enthralled with this story and I could not put it down. And that ending…wowza…DID NOT SEE THAT COMING. This was a fantastic psychological thriller for sure.
descriptionSo deets…as I mentioned above the writing in this one took some getting used to. Maybe because it uses a first person POV. I am not really sure. It just felt a bit clunky at the start. That said, the more I read the more I got pulled into the story. The pace was perfect and there wasn’t any lag in the story. The plot was super engaging and had me flipping the pages like a crazy person. The only smallish issue I did have was that I wish we had gotten more info about the church and what precisely happened to June. There is a story waiting to be told with both those storylines (IMO). I didn’t particularly care for any of the characters. None of them were remotely likable and all of them were unreliable narrators. But I don’t always have to like the characters or relate to them to enjoy a book. In fact, some of my favorite books are full of despicable people. I find they make the most interesting of characters. Last, the ending of this one was awesome. I have mentioned numerous times I am fantastic at sherlocking out baddies and twists in books and I simply did not see that ending coming. I should have dammit…I really should have! So extra kudos go to the author for springing that one on me.SIDE NOTE: OK, so I have to admit I found the whole “INSTALOOK” thing a tad cheesy. Can you not use “INSTAGRAM” in a book?? I mean it is very obvious that is what everyone was using. I am sure I have read brand names in books before. Using “INSTALOOK” just came across like I said, a bit cheesy.descriptiondescription
About Eve1972 3582 Articles
Hi there! I’m a mom and wife by day (and night), aspiring writer (in my dreams), and an avid reader (every day of the week). This is my little corner of the web to post about ALL things books. I live in Copenhagen, but I am a Canadian girl (born and raised) at heart.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.